Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Fear Nothing

Lisa Gardner

My name is Dr. Adeline Glen. Due to a genetic condition, I can’t feel pain. I never have. I never will.

The last thing Boston Detective D. D. Warren remembers is walking the crime scene after dark. Then, a creaking floorboard, a low voice crooning in her ear. . . . She is later told she managed to discharge her weapon three times. All she knows is that she is seriously injured, unable to move her left arm, unable to return to work.

My sister is Shana Day, a notorious murderer who first killed at fourteen. Incarcerated for thirty years, she has now murdered more people while in prison than she did as a free woman.

Six weeks later, a second woman is discovered murdered in her own bed, her room containing the same calling cards from the first: a bottle of champagne and a single red rose. The only person who may have seen the killer: Detective D. D. Warren, who still can’t lift her child, load her gun, or recall a single detail from the night that may have cost her everything.

Our father was Harry Day, an infamous serial killer who buried young women beneath the floor of our home. He has been dead for forty years. Except the Rose Killer knows things about my father he shouldn’t. My sister claims she can help catch him. I think just because I can’t feel pain doesn’t mean my family can’t hurt me.

D.D. may not be back on the job, but she is back on the hunt. Because the Rose Killer isn’t just targeting lone women, he is targeting D.D. And D.D. nows there is only one way to take him down. (from Netgalley)

My Thoughts
Detective D.D. Warren suffers a fairly debilitating injury while re-visiting a crime scene where a sickening murder has occurred. While trying to recover, she gets involved in this murder investigation. Her healing process connects her with Dr. Adeline Glen, a pain specialist. Dr. Glen’s father was a notorious serial killer. Her sister has been in jail since her early teens for the murder of a young boy. Fear Nothing tells the story of how all these characters connect.

This is book #7 in the Detective D.D. Warren series. I must confess that I have not read all of the books, but this did not stop me from totally enjoying Fear Nothing. Ms. Gardner has quite a talent for slowly building suspense in her novels. This story goes right down to the wire with the reader wondering who the killer really is and whether or not D.D. will figure it out in time. I look forward to continuing with this series.

My thanks to Penguin Group Dutton, via Netgalley for allowing me to read this in exchange for an unbiased review.

No comments:

Post a Comment